Equality California Endorses 48 Pro-Equality Incumbents in California Legislative Races

Equality California today announced the endorsements of 48 members of the California Senate and Assembly for reelection in the 2016 election cycle. In order to earn Equality California’s endorsement for reelection, members of the legislature must earn a perfect 100 percent Equality Score on the organization’s Legislative Scorecard, which tracks their votes on priority legislation that advances lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights, and that addresses the disparities in health and wellbeing faced by the LGBT community.

“Because LGBT Californians face huge disparities in health and well being compared to the general public, there is much work ahead and our legislative partners are more important than ever,” said Equality California Executive Director Rick Zbur. “Today we are announcing Equality California’s endorsements of members of the state legislature who are up for reelection in 2016.  Our partnerships with legislators are key to advancing equality and social justice for LGBT people and all the communities of which we’re part.  We thank our endorsed allies and look forward to working with them to continue the fight for LGBT equality and social justice in California.”

The Equality California endorsed incumbent legislators are as follows:

Senate Races:

Jim Beall (SD-15)

Cathleen Galgiani (SD-5)

Steven Glazer (SD-7)

Jerry Hill (SD-13)

Hannah-Beth Jackson (SD-19)

Ricardo Lara (SD-33)

Bill Monning (SD-17)

Richard D. Roth (SD-31)


Assembly Races:

Richard Bloom (AD-50)

Rob Bonta (AD-18)

Cheryl R. Brown (AD-47)

Autumn Burke (AD-62)

Ian C. Calderon (AD-57)

Ed Chau (AD-49)

David Chiu (AD-17)

Kansen Chu (AD-25)

Jim Cooper (AD-9)

Matthew Dababneh (AD-45)

Tom Daly (AD-69)

Susan Eggman (AD-13)

Jim Frazier (AD-11)

Cristina Garcia (AD-58)

Eduardo Garcia (AD-56)

Mike Gipson (AD-64)

Jimmy Gomez (AD-51)

Lorena Gonzalez (AD-80)

Chris R. Holden (AD-41)

Jacqui Irwin (AD-44)

Reginald Jones-Sawyer (AD-59)

Marc Levine (AD-10)

Patty López (AD-39)

Evan Low (AD-28)

Kevin McCarty (AD-7)

Jose Medina (AD-61)

Kevin Mullin (AD-22)

Adrin Nazarian (AD-46)

Patrick O’Donnell (AD-70)

Bill Quirk (AD-20)

Anthony Rendon (AD-63)

Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (AD-54)

Freddie Rodriguez (AD-52)

Rudy Salas Jr. (AD-32)

Miguel Santiago (AD-53)

Mark Stone (AD-29)

Tony Thurmond (AD-15)

Phil Ting (AD-19)

Shirley Weber (AD-79)

Jim Wood (AD-2)

Equality California endorses incumbent candidates who have earned a 100-percent, pro-equality rating for their votes on the organization’s sponsored and priority supported legislation.  Please see the 2015 Equality California Legislative Scorecard for more information